Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Update September 24th 2021

To You, Dear Racers
CANADA MAN/WOMAN

Dear athletes,

Fiery leaves of a new Fall are back right on time for this 2021 edition of Canada Man/Woman. We feel enthusiasts and plan on offering you an uncommon experience, involving few adjustments and a good sense of adaptation.

Vaccinal passport

As it has been announced lately and due to Sanitary guidelines put in place by the Quebec Government Office, the vaccinal passport will be mandatory for our athletes, support team members and the crowd/visitors as it is for every event counting more than 50 individuals as ask by Quebec Gouvernment. Canada Man/Woman is an exterior event with mone than 50 individuals. If needed, you’re invited to read the following information sheet. Please note that your vaccinal passport will be requested and verified by members of our organization.

Transition zone

For this special edition, make sure to properly plan your arrival in the transition zone whether you are an Xtri athlete or a Sprint athlete. When you’ll enter the zone, on you scheduled race day and time, you will not be granted permission to go back and leave this zone.

Your commitment

We wish to acknowledge the commitment you made for yourself and regarding your training in the past year and a half, but also regarding the Canada Man/Woman. You’re on the way and are still getting ready despite the changes this Pandemic brought to us and the current restrictions that are applying. Endurance Aventure’s team is proud to have the opportunity to welcome you in Lac Megantic area this and to allow you to experience this uncommon adventure under an adaptative mode.

Sprint – 2 octobre

CHANGES AND DETAILS

  • The Race Manual will not be modified anymore, therefore, you’ll find it by clicking here and will be able to review every change recorded for the Sprint.
  • On Saturday, October 2nd, you’ll have to be well prepared and ready once you enter the transition zone as you will not be allowed to get out of it afterwards.
  • Please note that Quebec Triathlon Federation might oblige swimmers to wear a neoprene wetsuit, on Saturday morning, right before the swim. We also recommend you to wear neoprene accessories such as gloves, shoes/socks, tuque, etc.

Touristic Station of BAIE-DES-SABLES arrival for your scheduled starting time:
SATURDAY OCTOBER 2
8h00 : Bibs501 à 650
8h05: Bibs561 à 620,
8h10: Bibs621 à 680
8h15: Bibs681 à 730

***Thanks for showing up right on time to get ready to go.***

SCHEDULE SPRINT 2021

SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 25
9h00 : Pre-race meeting (Meeting will be recorded)
LINK TO THE PRE-RACE MEETING

FRIDAY OCTOBER 1st
No activities planned for Canada Man/Woman

SATURDAY OCTOBER 2
8h00 – 9h00: Arrival on site attributed to you up here (Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

9h00: Wave starts (Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

Xtri- October 3rd

Few more informations

  • The Race Manual will not be modified anymore, therefore, you’ll find it by clicking here. and will be able to review the previous changes to Xtri.
  • With the upcoming Fall Season and its fiery trees, weather conditions are up for great variations too, so are we, meaning our nights might get much colder. Therefore, the neoprene wetsuit, the light and the inflatable swim buoy will be MANDATORY FOR EVERY AND ALL XTRI PARTICIPANTS. Neoprene accessories are also strongly recommended (gloves, shoes/socks, tuques, etc.).
  • You must also plan on bringing warm clothing (coat, gloves, hats, etc.) and maybe a blanket for you and your support team to keep you warm as you all reach the summit of Mont Megantic. Nature and the conditions can make themselves quite surprising!
  • As you know, the Xtri racecourse goes across National Park of Mont Megantic. Your registration for Canada Man/Woman Xtri covers entrance fees for 2 (one for you and one for your support team member). You’ll find your bib number and your expected arrival time in the transition zone on Saturday, October 2nd.

TRANSITION ZONE ARRIVAL TIME ACCORDING TO YOUR BIB NUMBER SATURDAY, OCTOBER 2nd 2021:
SATURDAY OCTOBER 2

17h00 : 1 à 20 – 17h15: 21 à 40 – 17h30: 41 à 60
17h45 : 61 à 80 – 18h00: 81 à 100 – 18h15: 101 à 120
18h30 : 121 à 140 and up
18h45 : If you cannot make it at the time scheduled according to your bib number, you can come in at 18:45.

Great news for your summit!

We’re excited to finally announce that your family and relatives will be allowed and more than welcome to catch a shuttle bus in order to greet you once you get closer and reach the finish line at the summit of Mont Megantic!

Using a little bit of adaptation here too, you will benefit from the support and the presence of your loved ones once you get to the stars, up high.

Here is our protocol to make sure it all works out:
1. Access ticket (day pass)

Everyone wishing and planning on spending time on the Xtri race course in Megantic National Park area and/or at the summit of Mont Megantic (runners finish) has to:

Buy a day pass for October 3rd, for National Park of Mont-Megantic and do so BEFORE the bike deposit time slot, Saturday October 2nd, 5:00 pm.

This ticket can be purchased right away here. If you already have in your possession a year-round pass for SEPAQ parks or have subscribed for a Megantic Park annual pass, your access is granted during the CANADA MAN/WOMAN event.

2. Vaccinal pass

Everyone (athletes and support teams) is requested to carry his vaccinal passport on the site/racecourse.

3. Bracelets as vaccinal proof will be given to the athletes and to one support team member.

As you will make your bike sage to the assigned space for it, on October 2nd (Saturday), we will ask you to show your vaccinal passport (athletes and support team members – two bracelets are included in your registration file). A bracelet will be given to you after once your passport is validated and you’ll have to wear as you go through the race.

4. Bracelets (testimony for vaccinal proof) for visitors and support teams of the athletes

From 5 :00 pm, Saturday, October 2nd (bike deposit site), the vaccinal passport will be mandatory. We will give you a bracelet to prove and confirm we looked at it. You will also have to purchase a day pass for October 3rd (Sunday) to be able to access the Park then. Please carry with you your receipt (proof you bought your access) as you take the shuttle to the summit of Mont Megantic.

*** Your day pass will be checked by the SEPAQ employees on race day so make sure you really carry it with you! ** **

As we keep in mind everyone’s safety, we will align with SEPAQ’s request and insure there isn’t too many people gathering at the summit. We then invite you to get up there according to the timing of your athlete’s arrival, to share a moment with him/her, a meal and then take the shuttle to be driven back down the mountain.

Trois octobre, à l'arrivée du Xtri:

Deux Caribous will wait for you at the summit!

When you’ll get to Mont-Megantic’s summit, you and your assistant will receive a meal (paid with your registration fees). If your visitors also wish to share a meal with you at the summit, they will have the opportunity to find some great food! Please make sure everyone has cash in hand as the Interac system isn’t always that effective up there.

SCHEDULE XTRI 2021

SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 25
11H00: Race meeting (meeting will be recorded)

SATURDAY OCTOBER 2
18H00 – 20h00: Bike deposit in the transition zone.

SUNDAY OCTOBER 3
5H30: Arrival of athletes int the Baie des Sables parking lot ( Baie des Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac Mégantic)

6H15: Wave Starts of the Canada Man/Woman ( Baie-des-Sables beach, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

SPARK NUTRITION, created in 2017 by Jeff Verreault, Kinesiology M.Sc and canadian cyclist, has given itself the mission to push the limits of sports nutrition through science and to develop the best nutritional products to offer to an athlete. Partner for the event, SPARK NUTRITION gives athletes a 25% discount for every purchase of 75$ or more. To benefit from this discount. Simply use the promo code CANADAXTRI_25.

April 15th 2020 Update

To You, Dear Racers
CANADA MAN/WOMAN

Dear athletes,

The Canada Man/Woman event will soon take place alongside Fall season! We are pleased to welcome you and to offer you a unique experience on the Canada Man/Woman route. We’ll be there for you to support you all the way through the end of this incredible adventure. Speaking about it, we’ve made few adjustments to this October edition such as modifications to the course planning, preparation and equipment.

Adaptation is a recurring aspect of every Xtriexperience and we can’t embark on these challenges without bringing it on board with us. October’s first weekend is one of Fall most beautiful ones, but it can also show us important temperature variations, inviting cold rain, snow, hail, wind, hot temperatures, etc. Therefore, you’ll need to prepare yourself regarding these conditions and carry a variety of clothes to make sure you can carry on with, at least, a little bit of comfort. Fatigue will be part of the journey and, considering weather changes, it can also impact your needs in equipment and clothing. So we strongly recommend: gloves, hats, shoe protection and every other accessory or garment you could think about to keep you on track and run to the finish line.

An adventure like this requires you to evaluate your route, as you know, to reassess your goals if necessary and to manage the plan according to what’s going on and what’s ahead of you. Dealing with the unknow and making adaptations if you need to, such as giving yourself a little break to dress with warmer clothes or eat something soothing can change everything and drive you even better to the end of this world (the Observatory!).

Our recommandations: take good care, train in harsh weather, unfamiliar terrains, conditions, etc., keeping in mind your securityis important. It will also be part of our major concerns as you thrive to reach your goal.

In terms of swimming equipment, you will need to have a (floating) swim buoy and a wetsuit for the swim, to know there will be no room (tent) to change and that you will be on your own regarding ways to keep yourself warm throughout the day. wetsuitfor the swim, to know there will be no room (tent) to change and that you will be on your own regarding ways to keep yourself warm throughout the day.

You will find all the modifications below in this email.

***As newly required by the Public Health of Quebec, Vaccination Passport is mandatory for racers, crew teams and others. ***

Sprint – 2 octobre

CHANGES AND DETAILS

  • An online pre-race briefing is scheduled for you on September 25th, 9 am. The link will be on the website.
  • There won’t be any registration before race day (meaning nothing happens on Friday).
  • Entrance on the site will be allowed from 8 am on Saturday and racers will start in little groups from 9 am. Your starting time will be assigned to you and chosen by your bib number. (An email will be sent shortly regarding your start posisition)
  • Regarding Saturday morning. Your transition zone spot will be assigned to you by your bib number too and you’ll get to the starting line by groups of four or five, starting every five second. (An email will be ent shortly)
  • We will provide you with your bib, t-shirt, meal coupon and bag on Saturday morning too at the entrance of the transition.
  • Course modifications:
    • SWIM: 500 m
    • RUN: 6,2 km
    • BIKE: same as previously planned

SCHEDULE SPRINT 2021

SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 25
9H00: Pre-race meeting (Meeting will be recorded)

FRIDAY OCTOBER 1
No activities planned for Canada Man/Woman

SATURDAY OCTOBER 2
8H00 – 9H00: Arrival on site (Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

9H:00: Wave starts (Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

Xtri- 3 octobre

CHANGES AND DETAILS

  • An online pre-race briefing is scheduled for you on September 25th, 11 am. The link will be on the website.
  • Nothing happens on Friday, you will receive your racing bibs and timing chips at the transition on Saturday.
  • Bike deposit will be opened in Baie-des-Sables (transition zone) on Saturdaybetween 6 pm and 8 pm. You will receive a bag containing your essentials for the race.
  • Transition zone will be opened on Sunday, October 3rd, from 5:30 am. When you’ll be in, you will not be allowed to go out.
  • Startwill be given in small groups (4 to 5 swimmers) at 6:15 at Baie-des-Sables.
  • Swimmerswill be asked to complete two loops, each one being 1 km length, for a total of 2km. Cut off will be effective at the 30 minutes mark and every swimmer who will not have been able to complete the loops will not be reported as DNF, but will receive a 1 hour penalty added to the race time instead.
  • For this year, we have to cancel the award banquet on Monday. That means the event finishes when you reach the summit!

SCHEDULE XTRI 2021

SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 25
11H00: Race meeting (meeting will be recorded)

SATURDAY OCTOBER 2
18H00 – 20h00: Bike deposit in the transition zone.

SUNDAY OCTOBER 3
5H30: Arrival of athletes int the Baie des Sables parking lot ( Baie des Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac Mégantic)

6H15: Wave Starts of the Canada Man/Woman ( Baie-des-Sables beach, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

April 15th 2020 Update

Some numbers and statistics in the Mégantic region at the beginning of October

Average temperature for the Lac-Mégantic region:

Maximum temperature: 16 ° C
Minimum temperature: 4 ° C
Average temperature: 13.9 ° C
Temperature at the top of Mont-Mégantic: Cold !!

Don’t forget your tuque and warm clothes!

The Canada Man / Woman is a great human and sporting adventure out of the ordinary for athletes, assistants and their families. Thank you to all of you, athletes, partners and volunteers who are ready to adapt, even if it is not always easy, to make the event possible this fall.

We are all looking ahead and aiming for the summit of Mont-Mégantic with you!

The Canada Man/Woman Team

April 15th 2020 Update

Hello to all participants of the Canada Man / Woman of Lac-Mégantic 2020.

First, we very much hope that you are doing well in the current situation.

We took out time to write to you because the situation changed very quickly and almost daily.

We have been working hard over the last few weeks to try and come to the best decision for the athletes, the volunteers, the suppliers and of course the local community. We have made the decision to postpone the event to 2021, from July 3 to 6, 2021.

Note that your registration is automatically renewed for 2021 and that no action on your part is required.

We are aware that there is no unanimous decision, but the situation requires exceptional measures on our part in accordance with government directives, because the first issue is obviously everyone’s safety.

The organization would like to thank you, the athletes, for your support, and would also like to thank all the partners who are ready to adapt (even if it is not easy!) to make logistically possible the postponement of this event.

We wish you, despite the circumstances, a great summer that will allow you to do your favorite sports!

The Canada Man/Woman Team

P.S. If you have personal stories of adventures, training or others, do not hesitate to send them to us so we can share them on our social networks!

March 24th 2020 Update

Hello to all participants of the CanadaMan / Woman of Lac-Mégantic 2020.

First, we would like to offer our moral support to all our friends who live this situation across the planet. The world of triathlon and endurance sport is a big family and we are very touched by the situation that affects us all.

The current situation goes way beyond triathlon, sport and competition. It is the greatest challenge that our world has known since WWII. We have to be united and help each other.

It is in this context that we are writing to update you on Canada Man / Woman 2020. We are monitoring the situation closely, which is changing rapidly and daily.

We will communicate with all participants by email on April 17 to update us on the situation.

Know that we are actively working on different alternatives in order to be able to hold a safe event for everyone.

We very much hope that you will be able to play outside despite the situation! For those who are in confinement, here is the latest film produced by Endurance Aventure to change your mind!

All together, let’s fight this virus and keep our distances!

The Canada Man/Woman team

Scroll to Top

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Mise à jour du 24 septembre 2021

À vous chers coureurs
CANADA MAN/WOMAN

 

Bonjour chers athlètes,

Les couleurs automnales arrivent à point pour l’édition 2021 du Canada Man/Woman. Nous sommes impatients de vous offrir une expérience qui se veut peu commune et qui vous demandera une bonne capacité d’adaptation.

Le passeport vaccinal

Tel qu’annoncé dans la dernière infolettre, nous sommes tenus d’exiger le passeport vaccinal pour les athlètes, les assistants ainsi que les spectateurs – en conformité avec les mesures sanitaires mise en place par le Gouvernement du Québec – puisque le Canada Man/Woman est un événement extérieur où se retrouvent plus de 50 personnes. Au besoin, vous pouvez vous référer au document suivant. Notez que le passeport sera demandé et vérifié pas les membres de l’organisation.

La zone de transition

Cette année, il sera important de bien orchestrer votre arrivée dans la zone de transition, que ce soit pour les athlètes du sprint ou pour les athlètes Xtri. Lorsque vous entrerez dans la zone de transition le matin, avant votre départ, il vous sera strictement interdit d’en ressortir.

Votre engagement

Nous tenons aussi à souligner l’engagement que vous avez pris envers vous même, en ce qui concerne votre entraînement, depuis plus d’un an et demi, mais aussi envers le Canada Man/Woman. Malgré les adaptations en lien avec la situation pandémique actuelle, vous êtes toujours au rendez-vous. L’équipe d’Endurance Aventure est fière de pouvoir enfin vous faire vivre cet événement haut en couleur sous-tendant le thème de l’adaptation!

Sprint – 2 octobre

Dernières modifications

  • Le Manuel de course ne se verra pas à nouveau modifié, toutefois, vous trouverez, en cliquant ici, toute les modifications apportées récemment au Sprint.
  • Samedi le 2 octobre prochain, vous devrez vous préparer de façon très rigoureuse. Lorsque vous entrerez dans la zone de transition, il ne sera plus possible d’en sortir.
  • Notez qu’il est possible que la Fédération de Triathlon du Québec oblige la combinaison de néoprène le matin même pour la nage. Nous vous recommandons aussi le port des accessoires de néoprène (gants, souliers, bas, tuque, etc.).

HORAIRE D’ARRIVÉE DANS LE STATIONNEMENT DE BAIE-DES- SABLES POUR LE DÉPART:
SAMEDI 2 OCTOBRE
8h00 : Dossards 501 à 650 
8h05: Dossards 561 à 620,
8h10: Dossards 621 à 680 
8h15: Dossards 681 à 730

***Merci de respecter rigoureusement votre heure d’arrivée***

HORAIRE SPRINT 2021

SAMEDI 25 SEPTEMBRE
9h00 : Réunion PRÉ-COURSE (La rencontre sera enregistrée afin que ceux qui en auraient besoin puissent la visionner ultérieurement).
LIEN POUR LA RÉUNION PRÉ-COURSE

VENDREDI 1er OCTOBRE
Aucune activité prévue en lien avec le Canada Man/Woman

SAMEDI 2 OCTOBRE
8h00 – 9h00: Arrivée sur le site selon l’heure qui vous a été attribuée ci-haut ( Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

9h00: Départ par vagues ( Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

Xtri- 3 octobre

Dernier point d’information

  • Le Manuel de course ne se verra pas à nouveau modifié, toutefois, vous trouverez, en cliquant ici, toute les modifications précédemment apportées au Xtri.
  • Avec les changements de couleurs des arbres viennent aussi des baisses de température et des nuits fraîches. En l’occurrence, notez que la combinaison de néoprène, la lumière ainsi que la torpille gonflable seront OBLIGATOIRES POUR TOUS LES PARTICIPANTS du XTRI. Les accessoires de protection en néoprène sont fortement recommandés (gants, bas, cagoule).
  • Aussi, vous et vos assistants devez prévoir des vêtements chaud (gants, coupe vent, tuque, etc.) pour votre arrivée au sommet: le sommet du Mont-Mégantic est reconnu pour sa météo changeante!
  • Comme vous le savez, le parcours du Xtri passe dans le Parc National du Mont Mégantic. Votre inscription au Canada Man/Woman Xtri comprend 2 droits d’accès pour la Sépaq locale, soient un pour vous et un pour votre assistant. Vous trouverez ci-bas votre numéro de dossard ainsi que votre horaire de passage prévus dans la zone de transition samedi le 2 octobre.

HORAIRE D’ARRIVÉE DANS LA ZONE DE TRANSITION DE BAIE-DES- SABLES POUR LE DÉPOT DES VÉLOS
SAMEDI 2 OCTOBRE

17h00 : 1 à 20 – 17h15: 21 à 40 – 17h30: 41 à 60
17h45 : 61 à 80 – 18h00: 81 à 100 – 18h15: 101 à 120
18h30 : 121 à 140 et plus
18h45 : Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de venir à l’heure prévue, vous pouvez vous présenter à 18h45.

bonne nouvelle au sommet!

Nous sommes très heureux de pouvoir enfin vous annoncer que votre famille et vos amis pourront venir voir votre arrivée au Sommet du Mont-Mégantic en utilisant les services d’une navette!

Avec un peu d’ajustement, vous serez en mesure d’avoir le soutien que vous méritez pour votre arrivée sous les étoiles.

Voici le protocole à respecter:
1. Le droit d’accès

Toutes les personnes (amis, famille, accompagnateur supplémentaire) qui souhaitent avoir accès au parcours du Xtri dans le Parc et/ou au sommet du Mont-Mégantic (arrivée des coureurs) doivent suivre les indications suivantes:

Se procurer un droit d’accès pour le Parc National du Mont-Mégantic valide pour le 3 octobre, AVANT le dépôt de votre vélo dans la zone de transition, à 17h00 le samedi le 2 octobre.

Vous pouvez vous le procurer dès maintenant en cliquant ici. Notez que si vous avez déjà votre abonnement Réseau Sépaq ou votre abonnement pour le Parc Lac Mégantic, votre entrée est déjà validée pour le jour de l’événement.

2. Le passeport vaccinal

Toutes les personnes (athlètes et accompagnateurs) doivent avoir en main leur passeport vaccinal.

3. Les bracelets de preuve de vaccination pour les athlètes et 1 accompagnateur

Lors du dépôt des vélos, samedi le 2 octobre, le passeport vaccinal sera demandé aux coureurs ainsi qu’aux accompagnateur (2 accès compris dans l’inscription). Un bracelet vous sera remis après la validation de votre passeport et devra être porté lors de la course.

4.Les bracelets de preuve de vaccination pour les spectateur invités par les coureurs

Dès 17h00, samedi le 2 octobre (dépôt des vélos), le passeport vaccinal sera contrôlé. Nous vous remettrons un bracelet en guise de preuve et de confirmation de la vérification de celui-ci. Vous devrez également vous procurer, en ligne, l’accès au parc pour le 3 octobre (dimanche), lequel vous donnera accès au Parc National le lendemain. Prière d’apporter votre preuve d’achat à la navette pour le Sommet du Mont-Mégantic.

*** Notez que l’accès au parc sera vérifié par le personnel de la Sépaq la journée de la course. **

Par soucis de sécurité pour tous, la Sépaq nous demande d’éviter les rassemblements au sommet. Donc nous invitons vos spectateurs à monter au sommet pour votre arrivée, vous accueillir, partager un moment et un repas avant de redescendre en utilisant la navette qui suivra.

Trois octobre, à l'arrivée du Xtri:

Les deux Caribous seront au sommet!

Lors de votre arrivée au sommet du Mont-Mégantic, vous et votre accompagnateur recevrez chacun un repas, celui-ci étant inclus dans les frais d’inscription que vous avez déjà acquittés. Si vous avez acheté un billet de banquet supplémentaire, vous recevrez un coupon repas de plus. Si vos spectateurs souhaitent aussi manger au sommet, ils leur sera possible de s’acheter de quoi se ravitailler: prévoyez de l’argent papier, la connexion n’est pas toujours formidable au sommet! 

HORAIRE XTRI 2021

SAMEDI 25 SEPTEMBRE
11H00: Réunion pré course en ligne (La rencontre sera enregistrée pour avoir la possibilité de la regarder plus tard.)

SAMEDI 2 OCTOBRE
18H00 – 20h00: Dépôt des vélos dans la zone de transition

DIMANCHE 3 OCTOBRE
5H30: Arrivée des athlètes dans le stationnement de la Baie des Sables (Stationnement du parc de la Baie des Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac Mégantic)

6H15: Départ de la course par vague (Plage de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

Fondée en 2017 par Jeff Verreault, M.Sc en kinésiologie et ancien cycliste canadien a pour mission de repousser les limites de la nutrition sportive grâce à la science et de développer les meilleurs produits nutritionnels qu’un athlète puisse utiliser. En tant que partenaire, SPARK NUTRITION offre à tous les athlètes un rabais de 25% sur tout achat de 75$ et plus. Vous devez simplement utiliser le code promotionnel CANADAXTRI_25.

Mise à jour du 9 septembre 2021

À vous chers coureurs
CANADA MAN/WOMAN

 

Bonjour chers athlètes,

Le Canada Man/Woman approche à grands pas, tout comme la saison automnale! Nous sommes impatients de vous offrir une expérience hors norme sur le parcours du Canada Man/Woman et de vous accompagner tout au long de cette grande aventure. Dans cette optique, quelques modifications ont été apportées, parmi lesquelles on compte cette édition d’octobre, mais aussi quelques adaptations au niveau de votre préparation, de l’équipement ainsi que du parcours.

La capacité d’adaptation est un aspect récurrent de tout Xtri et c’est l’une des caractéristiques à côté desquelles on ne peut passer lorsqu’on s’y prépare. La première fin de semaine d’octobre est habituellement l’une des plus belles de l’automne, néanmoins, on peut s’attendre à tout: pluie, neige, grêle, vent, grandes chaleurs, etc. Il vous sera donc essentiel de prévoir une variété de vêtements qui vous permettront de vous ajuster en fonction des conditions météo. La fatigue, qui survient inévitablement lorsqu’on navigue au coeur d’un défi de taille, correspond aussi au besoin de porter une attention particulière aux changements de température. Seront donc fortement suggérés: des gants, des tuques, une protection pour les souliers, tout autre accessoire susceptible de vous tenir au chaud et de vous permettre de continuer votre trajectoire pour nous rejoindre à l’arrivée.

Dans le cadre d’une telle aventure, prendre le temps de bien évaluer le parcours et s’octroyer des moments d’arrêt – gérer sa course – peut faire toute la différence. Par exemple, cinq minutes consacrées à boire, à manger et/ou à se réchauffer tout comme le choix d’ajuster sa vitesse en fonction des conditions peuvent s’avérer salutaires.

Nos recommandations: prenez bien soin de vous entraîner en de mauvaises conditions (météo défavorable, terrain inhospitalier, etc.), tout en privilégiant la sécurité avant tout, ce que nous mettrons également à l’avant-plan lors de l’événement.

En termes d’équipement pour la nage, notez que vous devrez avoir en votre possession une torpille flottante (bouée de nage en eau libre) de même qu’un wetsuit pour la nage, qu’il n’y aura aucune tente pour vous changer et que vous serez donc autonomes quant aux opportunités de vous tenir au chaud.

Vous trouverez toutes les modifications plus bas dans ce message.

*** Tel que que nouvellement exigé par Santé publique du Québec, le passeport vaccinal sera exigé pour les compétiteurs, les équipes de soutien, les spectateurs et autres.*** 

 

Sprint – 2 octobre

Changements – détails

  • Une rencontre d’avant course est prévue, en ligne, le 25 septembre à 9h. Le lien sera sur le site internet.
  • Il n’y aura pas d’inscription (remise de dossards et puces) avant course le vendredi.
  • L’arrivée sur le site est possible à partir de 8h et les départs se feront à partir de 9h. Votre heure de départ sera déterminée en fonction de votre numéro de dossard. (Vous recevrez un courriel sous peu à cet effet)
  • En ce qui concerne le départ du samedi 2 octobre. Votre place dans la zone de transition vous sera attitrée selon votre numéro de dossard, et les départs seront donnés par vague de 4 personnes à intervalles de 10 secondes. (Un courriel vous sera envoyé sous peu à cet effet)
  • La remise du sac contenant le dossard, le t-shirt ainsi qu’un coupon pour votre repas se fera le matin même à l’entrée de la transition.
  • Modifications de parcours:
    • NAGE: 500 m
    • COURSE: 6,2 km
    • VÉLO: aucun changement

HORAIRE SPRINT 2021


SAMEDI 25 SEPTEMBRE
9H00 : Réunion pré course (La rencontre sera enregistrée pour avoir la possibilité d’être consulté à une date ultérieure.)

VENDREDI LE 1 OCTOBRE
Aucune activité en lien avec le Canada Man/Woman

SAMEDI 2 OCTOBRE
8H00 – 9H00: Arrivée sur le site selon l’heure qui vous sera attribué lors de la prochaine communication ( Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

9H:00: Départ par vague ( ( Parc de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

 

Xtri- 3 octobre

Changements – détails

  • Une rencontre d’avant course est prévue, en ligne, le 25 septembre à 11h. Le lien sera sur le site internet.
  • Il n’y aura pas de remise de dossards le vendredi, tout se passe sur le site de transition à la Baie-des-Sables.
  • Le dépôt des vélos se fera à la Baie-des-Sables, dans la zone de transition, samedi le 2 octobre entre 18h et 20h. Vous recevrez alors le sac contenant le matériel dont vous aurez besoin pour le départ.
  • L’ouverture de la zone de transition se fera dimanche le 3 octobre à 5h30. Lorsque vous y serez entré, vous devrez y rester (il ne sera pas possible d’en ressortir).
  • Le départ sera donné à 6h15 à Baie-des-Sables et il se fera par vagues (de nageurs).
  • En ce qui concerne la natation, les compétiteurs auront deux boucles d’un kilomètre à compléter. Le temps limite « Cut off » est fixé à 30 minutes pour la première boucle. Tout nageur n’ayant pas complété la boucle en 30 minutes et moins, sera diriger vers la suite de la course. Dans ce cas, le participant ne se verra pas retiré de la course (DNF) en sortant de l’eau, mais se verra pénalisé par l’ajout d’une heure à son temps de course globale.
  • Le banquet du lundi est annulé pour cette année. Donc l’événement se termine à votre arrivée au sommet!

HORAIRE XTRI 2021

SAMEDI 25 SEPTEMBRE
11H00: Réunion pré course en ligne (La rencontre sera enregistrée pour avoir la possibilité de la regarder plus tard.)

SAMEDI 2 OCTOBRE
18H00 – 20h00: Dépôt des vélos dans la zone de transition

DIMANCHE 3 OCTOBRE
5H30: Arrivée des athlètes dans le stationnement de la Baie des Sables (Stationnement du parc de la Baie des Sables, 2370 chemin du Lac, Lac Mégantic)

6H15: Départ de la course par vague (Plage de la Baie-des-Sables, 2370, chemin du Lac, Lac-Mégantic, QC)

Mise à jour du 20 avril 2021

Quelques chiffres et statistiques région Mégantic début octobre

Température moyenne pour la région de Lac-Mégantic :

Température maximum : 16 °C
Température minimum : 4 °C
Température Moyenne : 13,9 °C
Température au sommet du Mont-Mégantic : Froid!!

N’oubliez pas votre tuque et vos vêtements chauds!

Le Canada Man/Woman est une grande aventure humaine et sportive hors du commun pour les athlètes, les assistants et leurs familles. Merci à vous tous, athlètes, partenaires et bénévoles qui êtes prêts à vous adapter, même si ce n’est pas toujours évident, pour rendre l’événement possible cet automne.

Nous regardons tous en avant et nous visons le sommet du Mont-Mégantic avec vous !

Toute l’équipe du Canada Man/Woman

Mise à jour du 15 avril 2020

Bonjour à tous les participants du Canada Man/Woman de Lac-Mégantic 2020.

Premièrement, nous espérons grandement que vous vous portez bien dans la situation actuelle.

Nous avons pris quelques semaines avant de vous écrire, car la situation changeait très rapidement et presque quotidiennement.

Nous avons travaillé sur différents scénarios en prenant compte des athlètes, des bénévoles, des partenaires et bien entendu, de la communauté qui est derrière l’événement. Finalement, nous avons pris la décision de reporter l’événement à 2021, soit du 3 au 6 juillet 2021.

Notez que votre inscription est automatiquement reconduite pour 2021 et qu’aucune action de votre part n’est requise.

Nous sommes conscients qu’aucune décision ne peut faire l’unanimité, mais la situation exige de notre part des mesures exceptionnelles en respect avec les consignes gouvernementales, car le premier enjeu est évidemment la sécurité de tous.

L’organisation tient à vous remercier, vous les athlètes, pour votre support, et tient également à remercier tous les partenaires et bénévoles qui sont prêts à s’adapter (même si ce n’est pas simple!) pour rendre logistiquement possible le report de cet événement.

Nous vous souhaitons donc, malgré les circonstances, un bel été qui vous permettra de faire vos sports favoris!

Toute l’équipe du Canada Man/Woman

P.S. Si vous avez des histoires d’aventures, d’entraînements ou autres, n’hésitez pas à nous donner de vos nouvelles et de nous raconter vos histoires. Nous pourrons la partager sur nos réseaux sociaux.

Mise à jour du 24 mars 2020

Bonjour à tous les participants du CanadaMan/Woman de Lac-Mégantic 2020.

Premièrement, nous tenons à offrir notre soutien moral à tous nos amis qui vivent cette situation à travers la planète. Le monde du triathlon et du sport d’endurance est une grande famille et nous sommes très touchés par la situation qui nous touche tous (athlètes, bénévoles, assistants, partenaires etc.)

La situation actuelle dépasse le triathlon, le sport et les compétitions. C’est le plus grand défi que notre monde connait depuis la 2 guerre mondiale. Il faut être solidaire, rester chez-nous et s’entraider.

C’est dans ce contexte que nous vous écrivons pour vous donner des nouvelles du Canada Man/Woman 2020. Nous suivons l’évolution de la situation attentivement qui change rapidement et quotidiennement.

Nous communiquerons avec tous les participants par courriel le 17 avril prochain pour faire le point sur la situation.

Sachez que travaillons activement sur différentes alternatives afin de pouvoir tenir un événement sécuritaire pour tous.

Nous souhaitons grandement que vous soyez en mesure de jouer dehors malgré la situation! Pour ceux qui sont en confinement, voici le dernier film produit par Endurance Aventure pour vous changer les idées!

Tous ensemble, combattons ce virus et gardons nos distances!

Toute l’équipe du Canada Man/Woman

Retour haut de page